Camp Celiac

So I am from Northern California, precisely from the East Bay. I heard about a summer camp from a family friend that was designed specifically for kids ages 9 to 17 years old who have been diagnosed with Celiac disease. Camp Celiac is made possible by The Taylor Family Foundation who hosts the camp at Camp Arroyo in Livermore, California (about a 30 minute drive from my house).

The applications to become a camp counselor recently opened up and I filled it out as soon as I saw it! I find out this Wednesday, February 22nd if I am offered an interview! It will be such a great experience, I am crossing my fingers! Not only do I love working with kids, I also used to love attending summer camp as a kid. This is the best of both worlds, I get to be a counselor and eat gluten free for a week!

The Taylor Family Foundation’s mission is to preserve the wellness and enhance the quality of life for children in Northern California with life-threatening and chronic illnesses, disabilities, and youth at risk through unique therapeutic experiences and support. At the 138 acre Camp Arroyo for its sixth year, Camp Celiac 2012’s campers, counselors, and volunteers eat delicious gluten-free food and enjoy traditional camp activities such as a ropes course, rock climbing, ziplining, boating, swimming, archery, arts and crafts, skit night, and outdoor sports.  Three meals a day without having to ask if any of the foods are gluten free is life changing for many campers and staff!

For more information, feel free to visit http://celiaccamp.com/index.html

And by Wednesday I will let you know if I got the job or not 🙂

Cross your fingers for me!!

Leave a Reply

